The Southeast Diesel Collaborative (SEDC) is part of EPA’s National Clean Diesel Campaign, a program combining regulatory measures with voluntary initiatives to reduce the pollution emitted from diesel engines across the country. It includes leaders from industry, academia, and government at all levels from Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee.

Our goal is to improve air quality and public health by encouraging the use of clean, renewable energy and by reducing diesel emissions from existing engines and equipment from all types of diesel engines.

Collaborative Strategies:

  • Encourage alternative fuel use, conserve fuel, promote energy independence
  • Install clean retrofit devices on diesel equipment
  • Encourage older engine replacement and repowering
  • Analyze and disseminate best practices to reduce engine idling and properly maintain equipment


The SEDC Strategic Planning Group oversees focus areas within the Collaborative and coordinates teleconference meetings, events, and other networking opportunities for current and prospective members of the organization. Its members are:

Angie Card, card@cavs.msstate.edu

Richard McDonald, Richard_McDonald@dnr.state.ga.us

Anthony Smiley, asmiley@adem.state.al.us

Stan Williams, stanwilliams@cityofclarksville.com

Cathy Willis, cwillis@gaports.com

Don Francis, don@clippercreek.net

Jonathan Overly, jonathan@ETCleanFuels.org

Mark Roberts, Mark.Roberts@miamidade.gov

Ben Kessler, bkessler@ors.sc.gov

Sam Christmus, christsw@dhec.sc.gov